What You Need to Know About Maryland Homeschooling Laws
Thinking about homeschooling in Maryland? Here is a summary of the regulations required by the State.
If you are facing sending your child to school and feel that homeschooling may be right for you and your child, you will need to make sure that you research the guidelines in your state. All states have different regulations and if you live in Maryland, you are facing some of the most stringent guidelines as far as homeschooling goes. Here is a quick look at what you will need to do as a parent if you choose to homeschool in the State of Maryland.
Your Options as a Homeschooling Parent
In Maryland, there are two options that you can choose when you homeschool your children. Both are set in place to make sure that parents are regulated and that children are taught the necessary education. It is important that you file the needed paperwork and follow these guidelines very carefully. Not doing so can result in your child’s education not being recognized by the state and can, in fact, get you into a lot of trouble. It is compulsory that all school-aged children, ages 6 to 16 attend public, private or homeschool.
Homeschooling in Maryland: Option One
The first option that you can choose when you homeschool in Maryland requires that you provide a homeschooling atmosphere for your children in your home. You will agree that the education that you provide for your children is sufficient enough and that you teach all parts of the required curriculum. Under this option, you will also agree to teach your child all the normal and necessary courses that are normally taught in public schools including but not limited to language arts, mathematics, history, geography, science, art, music, health, physical education, and social studies. In addition, you will also agree to file a one-time intent to homeschool a letter with the state at least 15 days before the start of the school year.
Homeschooling in Maryland: Option Two
Option two is often used by families that homeschool their children for religious reasons. Under this option, you agree to school your children within a supervised religious program or church. These programs are pre-approved by the state. In addition, you need to file a letter of intent at least 15 days before the beginning of the school year.
When you decide to homeschool your children in any state, make sure that you are following all the necessary requirements and guidelines. In Maryland, you will need to follow stringent policies and file the necessary paperwork. Make sure that you keep up with any changes that may occur from year to year. Visit the Maryland Home Educators Association for complete details.